• 0 Replies

Offline the leveller

• Global Moderator
  • +75/-0
 Speech by BOB LOMAS
at "CROWN, POUND and DEMOCRACY" rally
(Trafalgar Square, 21 April 2002)
Bob Lomas is founder and Chairman of the MAGNA CARTA SOCIETY

Ladies and gentlemen, brothers and sisters of the family of the United Kingdom, for if we are not a family we are not a nation.
When I was a young man, I was a soldier. I did not have the opportunity to be an angry young man. Now I'm making up for it. I've joined the brigade of angry old men.
No, we are enraged.
It is said that old men should have a little dog to prevent them from becoming too angry.
I have one. I have here a photograph. Can you see alright at the back?
My friends, that is a much larger and clearer picture than Parliament showed this nation when our traitorous politicians took us into the new growing soviet in Europe.
Many of us here today no doubt had ancestors at Trafalgar and Waterloo. They fought to prevent the Code Napoleon casting its dark shadow of oppression over this nation.
My father fought in the Great War. He survived all the major battles, the Somme, Passchendale, Ypres and Vimey ridge. He lived to be an old man, but that dreadful struggle for democracy stayed with him until his dying day.
I will not stand by, and allow treacherous politicians and cheapskate lawyers to betray the sacrifices made by my fallen comrades, my fathers fallen comrades, and my grandfathers and great-grandfathers fallen comrades.
In 1953 Queen Elizabeth II was crowned in this ancient city, the capital of the nation, now, as Parliament would have us believe, a province of the EU.
At the time of her Coronation the Queen entered into a contract with the people. She took a sacred oath, not to rule us, not to reign over us, but to govern us, according to our laws and customs.